Montenegro Unitary state


Structures and competences

Local level :
23 municipalities (opština)

The municipal assembly (Skupština opštine) is the municipality’s legislative body. Its members are elected by direct universal suffrage for four years. Each assembly is made up of 30 councillors plus an additional councillor for every 5,000 voters. The municipal assembly adopts regulations and the budget, and also establishes the level of local taxes. It can establish internal commissions and boards and is chaired by a speaker elected from among the councillors.

The mayor (Predsjednik opštine in municipalities and gradonačelnik in cities) is elected by the municipal assembly for a four-year mandate. He/she is the municipality’s executive body. The mayor proposes regulations to be adopted by the assembly and is responsible for their implementation. He/she also supervises the work of the municipal administration and can appoint or dismiss deputy mayors.

The capital city of Podgorica is made up of two districts each of which enjoys the status of a municipality.


  • Local development
  • Urban and spatial planning
  • Environmental protection
  • Social welfare
  • Public transport
  • Culture and sports