Montenegro Unitary state

History and trends

Montenegro is a parliamentary Republic. Its Constitution was adopted on 19 October 2007.

In 1918, Montenegro was amalgamated into the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs, which became the Kingdom of Yugoslavia in 1929. From 1946 onwards, it was a constituent state of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. Following its breakup in 1991-1992, it was one of the two former Yugoslav republics led by Slobodan Milosevic. Then, in the wake of the 2002 Belgrade Agreement, it was one of the two constituent republics of the new state of Serbia and Montenegro.

In a self-determination referendum held on 21 May 2006, Montenegro opted to separate from Serbia and declare independence.